Ahead of Their New Album, Alpine Play Mercury Lounge Tomorrow

March 6th, 2013

Alpine, a six-piece from Down Under—singer Phoebe Baker, guitarist Christian O’Brien, backing vocalist Louisa James, keyboardist Tim Royal, bassist Ryan Lamb and drummer Phil Tucker—formed in 2009. They put out an EP, Zurich, the following year. Filled with five lush, hypnotic songs combining dance and post-punk sounds, it earned the Melbourne band comparisons to Phoenix and the xx. A proper LP, A Is for Alpine, comes our here in late spring, but Alpine (above, doing “Gasoline” for Australia’s Ripe TV) are out on the road now. See them, alongside Lightyear, tomorrow night at Mercury Lounge.